Schedule for the 2014 Excavation Season at Khirbet el-Maqatir

Overall Schedule (SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE)

Wednesday May 14: ABR staff departs from the USA.

Sunday May 18 PM: Check in date for volunteers at Yad Hashmonah. Arrangements may be made for earlier check in at additional cost, but there is no guarantee of room availability. Check with ABR to confirm availability and pricing for early check in.

Sunday May 18: Square Supervisors and Surveyors visit and set up site.

Sunday May 18: Orientation 7 PM

Monday May 19- Friday May 23: Dig at Khirbet el-Maqatir.

Saturday May 24 -Optional Van ride into Jerusalem.

Sunday May 25: Optional Tour to Shiloh, Mt. Gerazim, Mt. Ebal, and Shechem. Cost: $15 to $20 plus entry fees. (Diggers pay for this optional tour in Israel, not in advance).

Monday May 26- Friday May 30: Dig at Khirbet el-Maqatir.

Saturday May 31: Free Day. Diggers check out AM from Yad Hashmonah.

Daily Dig Schedule

4:15 AM Breakfast
4:45 AM Load Bus
5:00 AM Depart for Site- bus ride includes a daily devotional and songs of praise.
6:00 AM Start Digging
10:30 AM Lunch on site
2 PM Leave Site
3 PM Pottery Washing
4:30-7PM Rest, Free Time, Dinner at Yad Hashmonah
7-8 PM Evening Biblical Teaching

Biblical Teaching Schedule 7-8 pm: Subject to Change

Sunday, May 18—Orientation and Recording System (Staff)

Monday, May 19—Stones that the Builders Rejected: Construction in Jesus' Times (Peterson)

Tuesday, May 20—Before They Were Sherds: Pottery Making and Use in Bible Times (Wood)

Wednesday, May 21—Pottery Typology and You (Byers)

Thursday, May 22— The Date and Political Background of the Conquest (Stripling)

Friday, May 23— Digging Up the Truth at Jericho (Wood)

Monday, May 26—In Search of the Lost City of Ai: Topography and Archaeology (Wood)

Tuesday, May 27—Does the Byzantine Church at Maqatir Reflect the Sacred Architecture of the Temple in Jerusalem? (Ritmeyer)

Wednesday, May 28—The Late Hellenistic/Early Roman and Byzantine Periods (Stripling)

Thursday, May 29— Ai and OT Chronology: Who Cares? (Merrill)

Friday, May 30— Debriefing (Staff)

 

Last Updated: 3/5/2014

Associates for Biblical Research
  • PO Box 144, Akron, PA 17501
  • Phone: +1 717-859-3443 | Fax: +1 717-859-3393
  • Toll Free: 1-800-430-0008
Friend ABR on Facebook.com Join us on Twitter Join us on Twitter