Schedule for the 2015 Excavation Season at Khirbet el-Maqatir

Overall Schedule (SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE)

Wednesday May 21: ABR staff departs from the USA.

Sunday May 24 PM: Check in date for volunteers at the Ritz Hotel. Arrangements may be made for earlier check in at additional cost, but there is no guarantee of room availability. Check with ABR to confirm availability and pricing for early check in.

Sunday May 24: Square Supervisors and Surveyors visit and set up site.

Sunday May 24: Dig Orientation 7 PM

Monday May 25- Friday May 29: Dig at Khirbet el-Maqatir.

Saturday May 30 -Free Day. One week diggers check out AM.

Sunday May 31: Optional Tour to Shiloh, Mt. Gerazim, Mt. Ebal, and Shechem. Cost: $15 to $20 plus entry fees. (Diggers pay for this optional tour in Israel, not in advance).

Monday June 1- Friday June 5: Dig at Khirbet el-Maqatir.

Saturday June 6: Free Day. Departing diggers check out AM from the Ritz Hotel.

Sunday June 7: Optional tour of Benjamin Plateau with Bill Schlegel of IBEX. Cost: TBA, paid in Israel.

Monday June 8 - Friday June 12: Dig at Khirbet el-Maqatir

Saturday June 13: Diggers check out AM from the Ritz Hotel. Free day for post-dig tour participants.

Sunday June 14-Saturday June 20 AM: Post Dig Touring with Dr. Scott Stripling.

Daily Dig Schedule

4:15 AM Breakfast
4:45 AM Load Bus
5:00 AM Depart for Site- bus ride includes a daily devotional and songs of praise.
5:45 AM Start Digging
10:30 AM Lunch on site
1:45 PM Leave Site
2:30 PM Pottery Washing
3:30-7PM Rest, Free Time, Dinner at the Ritz Hotel
7-8 PM Evening Biblical Teaching as scheduled

Biblical Teaching Schedule 7-8 pm:  Subject to Change

Sunday, May 24—Orientation and Recording System (Staff)

Tuesday May 26 --Stones that the Builders Rejected: Construction in Jesus' Times (Peterson)

Thursday May 28 --Before They Were Sherds: Pottery Making and Use in Bible Times (Wood)

Monday June 1-- Ritual Purity at Khirbet el-Maqatir (Stripling)

Tuesday June 2 --- Field Trip to Israel Museum (optional)

Wednesday June 3 -- Digging Up the Truth at Jericho (Wood)

Friday June 5 -- The Date and Political Background of the Conquest (Stripling)

Monday June 8 -- In Search of the Lost City of Ai: Topography and Archaeology (Wood)

Wednesday June 10 -- Does the Byzantine Church at Maqatir Reflect the Sacred Architecture of the Temple in Jerusalem? (Ritmeyer)

Thursday June 11 -- TBA

Friday June 12 -- Debriefing (Staff)

 

Last Updated: 7/29/2014

ABR Security Statement

ABR is closely monitoring the violence in Israel. While we deplore the violence in the Hamas controlled Gaza Strip and the coastal region of Israel, we are grateful that it has not spilled over into the West Bank where the Khirbet el-Maqatir excavation is located. Our dig is in Area C, or the disputed territories; therefore, the Israeli military maintains a tight control there, including a guard tower that overlooks our site. In addition, we have armed security guards on our site while we are excavating. We have never needed the guards or felt in any way at risk. The Israeli Antiquities Authority will not allow us to excavate if there is any risk involved. There is no indication that they are concerned. We are confident that the 2015 excavation will be uninterrupted and safe. If the situation changes, we will take appropriate steps. Please join us in praying for peace in the land of the Bible.

Associates for Biblical Research
  • PO Box 144, Akron, PA 17501
  • Phone: +1 717-859-3443 | Fax: +1 717-859-3393
  • Toll Free: 1-800-430-0008
Friend ABR on Facebook.com Join us on Twitter Join us on Twitter